Account and Project Level Permissions

There are 2 tiers of permissions in TeamGantt:

1)  Account Level - This permission occurs at the account, or company, level and cover things such as being able to create projects, edit billing information, etc.

  • Account Holder: Account holders can add and remove users and company-level labels from the account, adjust billing information and access invoices, create new projects, and view/access all projects within the account.
  • Advanced User: These users can create new projects. However, they cannot remove users/labels from the account. Advanced users can only access projects to which they are invited.
  • Basic User: Cannot create new projects or remove users and labels from the account. Basic users can only access projects to which they are invited.
  • Guest User: Guests are unlimited, free users that can be added to any account that is on a current paid subscription. For a user to be a guest, they must be added directly to their first project on the account as a guest. Or, if they are a Basic User with View Only project-level permission on a single project, they can be converted to a guest in Account Settings > Manage Users. You can have as many guests as you'd like, but guests can only be invited to 1 project on the account at a time. If a guest is given any project level permission other than "View Only" or invited to more than 1 project, they will be then be considered a regular user and will count toward your paid user licenses. 

Tip: To edit account-level permissions, the Account Holder(s) can log in and go to Account Settings > Manage People.

Tip: Guests are only available on our Standard and Advanced plans. If you have a legacy plan and would like to know your options, please reach out to support@teamgantt.com.


2) Project Level - This permission is set every time someone is invited to a project. This enables the team to set different permissions for each user per project.

  • View Only - Users cannot make changes to the chart. However, they can upload files and comment on tasks.
  • Update Their Progress - Users cannot edit the chart except to update the % complete column of tasks that are assigned to them.
  • Edit Chart - Users can update and edit the chart.
  • Admin - All of the above, plus they can invite users, remove users, edit project settings, and delete the project.

When inviting users to a project, the default project level permission is Edit Chart (for Advanced Users) or View Only (for Basic Users). To change project-level permissions, the Admin(s) can open the project, select the People tab, and click the associated link under "Permission on this Project":

Tip: This is also the place where a user can be removed from a project


For more information regarding how to manage account users, please visit our Manage users support page.


To learn more about TeamGantt, join us for one of our webinars

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us